ASU Online Library Guide

E-books are an important subject to highlight outside of research databases and requesting materials. E-books gives you more access to materials that are available to you for both educational and leisure purposes. On this page, we will discuss how to access e-books and highlight specific e-books packages.

Like with all other library resources, the Library One Search is the best way to find titles. To limit results to e-books only, on the left hand the side of the page, you will see options to alter you search. You will want to:

• Refine your search, select: Items with full text online
• Content Type, select: Book / E-book

Below highlights the e-book packages that are the major databases to search for e-books. There will also be reference e-book packages for books such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.

The ASU Library has several major e-book collections or electronic book packages. Use the hyperlinks below to access these resources.

• ProQuest Ebook Central Library: One of the largest e-book databases, ProQuest Ebook Central Library includes a wide variety of subjects. This has both leisure and educational resources. It is also mobile friendly.
• eBooks on EBSCOhost: Similar to ProQuest, EBSCOhost has a wide range of subjects both for leisure and education resources and is mobile friendly.
• Springerlink: Springerlink provides access to scientific documents from journal, books, series, protocols, reference works, and proceedings.

ASU Library has licensed and provides access to thousands of online full-text or e-books. While the major e-book packages include a range of books and articles for research or leisure, this section includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, etc.

• Oxford English Dictionary (OED): Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the development of the English language.
• Gale eBooks: A searchable multidisciplinary collection of almanacs, encyclopedias, and specialized reference sources.
• Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition: Includes articles, illustrations, definitions, and links to web-sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
• Knovel: Integrates validated content, optimized search, and data analysis tools enabling engineers to solve problems quickly.

Advance to the Media page to access free movies, music, images and more!